School of Business

rss twitter LinkedIn Facebook YouTube Blogs

U.S. Ambassador to Dominican Republic Receives Alumni Honor

Dean Doug Guthrie presented Raúl Yzaguirre with the 2012 GWSB Distinguished Alumni Award.

Raúl H. Yzaguirre, U.S. ambassador to the Dominican Republic, is the recipient of the School’s 2012 Alumni Achievement Award.

Dean Doug Guthrie presented the award to Yzaguirre, who received a bachelor’s of science degree from GWSB in 1970, at GW’s 76th annual alumni achievement event on Sept. 27.

At the annual event hosted by GW President Steven Knapp and the GW Alumni Association board of directors, each school or college within the university recognizes one distinguished alumni.

Prior to being named ambassador, Yzaguirre, who is a lifetime member of the Council on Foreign Relations, was presidential professor of practice and executive director of the Center for Community Development and Civil Rights at Arizona State University. He has served as president and CEO of the National Council of La Raza, and was named to the Presidential Advisory Commission on Educational Excellence for Hispanics.

Alumni Achievement Award recipients are recognized for the lasting impact they have made on society though outstanding professional, voluntary or philanthropic accomplishments. In 2007, the GW Alumni Association (GWAA) split the awards into two categories:  Distinguished Alumni Achievement Awards and Recent Alumni Achievement Awards, which recognize graduates of the past 10 years.

Prior award recipients from schools include: Arnold “Red” Auerbach, GSEHD BS, ’40, MA, ’41, 16-time NBA champion and coach, president and general manager of the Boston Celtics; Julius Axelrod, PhD, ’55, winner of the Nobel Prize in Medicine; and Gen. Colin Powell, MBA, ’71, former U.S. Secretary of State.

The nonprofit GWAA represent the interests of more than 225,000 GW graduates.

Posted by gwsb on November 6, 2012 | Filed under: GWSB News.

No Comments »

Leave a comment

MBA Admissions and Experience Blog

The members of the MBA Admissions team contribute to the blog with postings about recruitment tours, events, interviews with current students, and insights about the admissions process. The team is composed of:

Christopher Storer, Executive Director
Jason Garner, Associate Director
Patsy Torres, Assistant Director
Jason Smith, Assistant Director
Shelly Heinrich, Admissions Consultant
Jessica Page, Coordinator